CMS-18 Sputtering System

The Lesker CMS 18 Deposition System (PVD 4) is a 4 source RF, 2 source pulsed DC sputter deposition system.  Each source can accommodate 3” diameter targets of maximum 0.250” thickness. Conductors are best suited for DC sputtering. Insulators are best suited for RF sputtering. Oxide/nitride deposition is also possible via reactive sputtering, by utilizing pulsed DC sputtering and careful gas flow control. RF Sputter materials approved include: Silicon Dioxide (SiO2), Titanium Dioxide (TiO2), Zinc Oxide (ZnO), Aluminum Oxide (Al2O3), Aluminum-doped Zinc Oxide (AZO), Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Tin Oxide (SnO2), Niobium Pentoxide (Nb2O5), Niobium Dioxide (NbO2), Tantalum Pentoxide (Ta2O5), Hafnium Oxide (HfO2), Silicon Nitride (Si3N4), Titanium Nitride (TiN),  Aluminum Nitride (AlN). DC Sputter materials approved include: Niobium (Nb), Chromium (Cr), Silicon (Si), Titanium (Ti), Tungsten (W), Molybdenum (Mo), Aluminum (Al), Chromium-Tantalum (Cr/Ta 50/50). The system features a load-lock for quick sample processing and high vacuum conditions. Other features include substrate cleaning/etching via argon/oxygen plasma and heating up to 800°C.

University Tag Number: 
Contact Custodian for availability
Research II - Clean room
Room Number: 
Acquisition Date: 
July 23, 2010